Results for "Rules Review"

We found 340 results for your search.

Rules Review: A course mower chewed up my ball and spat it out. What do I do now?

There’s a lot to deal with here, so let’s cover what to do when a mower inadvertently clips your ball. First, don’t get mad at the mower.

Rules Review: You can remove that stone in the bunker. But what happens if it improves your lie?

It’s worth revisiting what is and isn’t allowed in terms of what you can do before playing a shot from a bunker.

Rules Review: A tour pro grounded his club in a bunker but wasn’t penalised. How come?

At the Mexico Open at Vidanta in February, defending champion Jake Knapp was battling just to make the cut when he hit a bunker shot on his final hole (the ninth) of the second round. The ball didn’t make it out of the bunker, and in frustration, Knapp swiped the sand with his club. This Read more…

Rules Review: What can teammates share between groups during a team event? The dos and don’ts on giving advice

Team competitions are covered under Rule 24 – and they’re a big thing in the competitive golf landscape with the Ryder and Walker Cups coming up later in the year, not to mention all the pennant matches staged across the country. If you’re involved in one of these events, there are a few important things to remember about “helping” other members of your squad during a big match.

Rules Review: Two balls just collided in mid-air! What’s the ruling on that?

When two balls in motion at the same time run into each other, how you proceed depends on where the balls were when the strokes were made.

Rules Review: My opponent sets his clubhead behind the ball before taking his stance. Is that breaking the rule about aiming?

Setting an object down means that the object is in contact with the ground and the player is not touching the object.

Rules Review: I took an unplayable but my drop ended up in an even worse spot. What happens now?

There is no guarantee your ball will be playable after a drop is taken.

Rules Review: I love my lie, but I have to stand in ground under repair to hit the shot. Is that allowed?

When it comes to ground under repair, it’s usually your choice.

Rules Review: I didn’t know I’d holed out and played another ball thinking my first was lost. Which score counts?

Golf can be sadistic, but in this case, the rules work in your favour.

Rules Review: What happens if you break two rules before hitting your next shot?

Rule 1.3c covers this and goes on to clarify what happens in general when a player breaches a rule and then breaches another rule before the next stroke.

Rules Review: I’m searching for my ball in the rough and accidentally kick it. Penalty or not?

Thankfully, the Rules of Golf are fairly friendly in a handful of circumstances when a golf ball is accidentally moved – but not in all instances.

Rules Review: I keep watching this guy sole his club in front of his ball. Is that legal?

Rule 8.1b(4) explains that an action that is allowed is to ground the club lightly right in front of or right behind the ball.

Rules Review: My ball lies on some dirt an animal dug up while making a den. Do I get free relief?

Where things can get a little confusing is defining the boundaries of an animal hole.

Rules Review: The difference between taking a stance and building a stance

You might wonder why Matt Fitzpatrick was allowed to hit this shot from his knees.

Rules Review: My opponent used his wrench tool on his driver before teeing off. Is that allowed?

Customisation of clubs to meet your individual needs is one of the great advances in golf technology.

Rules Review: The greens at your course are in rough shape. Here’s what you can do – and can’t – to make them better

You might wonder what steps you can take to make a putting green a little bit nicer before you hit your putt or even chip from off the green. Let’s review what you can and can’t do under Rule 13.1c.

Rules Review: I see golfers who look like they are anchoring their putters. What’s the rule on that again?

In the case of those golfers at your club who hold the putter strangely, let’s review Rule 10.1b and see if they’re in violation of it.

Rules Review: My partner wants to concede a hole to our opponents, but I don’t. What happens now?

Under Rule 3.2b, a concession is made when it’s communicated clearly by anyone in a match.

Rules Review: I know I get three minutes to find my ball. But what if my search is interrupted?

In most instances, the clock does stop and you get to resume your search with whatever time is remaining from when you halted the search. But in other cases, it’s not quite that simple.

Rules Review: I know there’s a 14-club limit, but can I carry an extra driver head if I only use one?

Rule 4.3 allows you to carry things such as an extra driver head or shaft in your bag. Grips are OK, too. What you can’t do is use any of that stuff during the round.